Go Search Go Contents Go to bottom site map

(LEAD) S. Korea agrees with 4 nations to form middle-power group

2013/09/26 16:01

(ATTN: ADDS signing of MOU with Arab states in last 4 paras)

SEOUL, Sept. 26 (Yonhap) -- South Korea has agreed with four other middle-power nations to establish a joint consultation group as part of its drive to muster collaboration with peer countries, the foreign ministry said Thursday.

The agreement, signed in New York by Foreign Minister Yun Byung-se with his counterparts from Mexico, Australia, Indonesia and Turkey, calls for installing the cooperative organization MIKTA, which was named after the initials of the participant nations, according to the Ministry of Foreign Affairs.